University of Essex
University of Essex

8 February 2013

Moodle 2.4 Upgrade

Filed under: Information,Moodle,News — Tags: , , — Benjamin Steeples @ 3:15 pm

Over the weekend of Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th February, we will be taking Moodle out of service whilst we perform a small upgrade (http://moodle.essex.ac.uk). Moodle should be unavailable from 12noon on Saturday, and will be out of action for a few hours at most.

Like other upgrades, this will improve the security, usability, and reliability of Moodle. Major changes in this new version include:

Performance improvements
Moodle 2.4 is between 5% and 20% faster than Moodle 2.3 (our current version), meaning that all Moodle pages should load up a little quicker.

Changes to Moodle icons
Moodle 2.4 replaces a lot of the standard icons with newer, easier to understand, versions. A preview of the most common icons can be found below, but a full list is available on the Moodle website.

A full list of changes can be found on the following pages:

Upgrade complete!

The Moodle upgrade is now complete. Moodle was unavailable for approximately 90 minutes whilst the upgrade was installed and tested. Thank you all for your patience.

We’ve noticed some minor rendering and layout issues, and we’ll fix these during the week when more people are in the office (it won’t affect Moodle’s availability). If you notice any major problems, please email the Learning Technology Team (email: LTT).

Additional upgrade note

Quite a few people have pointed out bugs with the new version. These mostly relate to links not working as expected (links going to blank screens); some courses appearing to be completely blank; and the navigation block not working as expected. We now believe that the majority of these issues are fixed, however, one elusive issue still remains.

Navigation changes

In Moodle 2.4, the Navigation block behaves slightly differently to before. Clicking on the My courses link will return you to your Moodle home page (similar to My home). In order to expand the list of courses, you should click on the grey > arrow to the left of the My courses text (highlighted below).

We are looking at how we can revert this back to the old behavior, however it is not a trivial task.