Students Staff

June 26, 2019

Lynda.com is changing to LinkedIn Learning

Filed under: Elearning, IT Training, Lynda — sgswaine @ 10:19 am

We’re upgrading your Lynda.com account to LinkedIn Learning on Wednesday 10 July.

The main points

  • It will take roughly 18 hours to complete and you won’t be able to access Lynda while the upgrade takes place.
  • You’ll receive emails from LinkedIn prior to the upgrade and after the upgrade with instructions for activating your new LinkedIn Learning account.
  • All your historical data, including certificates and playlists, will be transferred over as part of the upgrade.
  • There are some new features such as adding your own video content to collections (formerly playlists).
  • You have the option to bind your new LinkedIn Learning account to your LinkedIn account.
  • You have control over your data via the privacy settings inside of the LinkedIn platform.

Why are we upgrading?

Lynda.com was purchased by LinkedIn in 2015. They have now combined the two platforms to create a more personalised and interactive learning experience powered by the LinkedIn network. This offers the benefits of both a social media platform and a learning content website. As well as the same great Lynda.com content (over 11,000 courses), some of the new features and benefits include:

  • Personalised course recommendation based on trending skills in your field
  • Multiple quiz types added to courses so users can test their knowledge
  • Adding your own custom content to collections (formerly known as playlists)
  • Creating custom or using pre-built learning paths made easier

If you’d like more information, you can read this key features and benefits document; take a sneak peek at the new interface; or watch the Advance your skills with LinkedIn Learning video.

What will happen during the upgrade?

The process for upgrading is automatic and will carry over all the data from Lynda.com to LinkedIn Learning.

On the upgrade day, the service (Lynda.com) will be offline from around 13:00pm. During this time all of the users details on Lynda.com (including playlists and learning history) will be transferred over to LinkedIn Learning. The upgrade process should be completed by midnight that night. When the transition is complete, all users, who already have a profile on Lynda.com, will be contacted by Linkedin Learning to let them know their new account is ready to activate. Your login details will still be the same (authenticating through your university credentials), but you will need to use a different link to get to LinkedIn Learning.

For those who don’t already have a Lynda.com account, messages will be sent out once the upgrade is complete to explain how to access the new service.

Optional binding to LinkedIn

When you use LinkedIn Learning for the first time, you’ll be given the option to bind your LinkedIn Learning account with your personal LinkedIn account. If you don’t already have a personal LinkedIn account, you’ll be able to create one (don’t use your Essex email for this). Joining LinkedIn is completely optional and you can add or remove it at any time.

Binding your personal LinkedIn account with your LinkedIn Learning account will:

  • give you an enhanced user experience by using public elements of your profile to suggest relevant courses and insights into learning trends
  • allow you to add certificates and completed courses directly to your LinkedIn page to show your skill progression
  • let you share courses directly with other members of LinkedIn and LinkedIn Learning
  • mean that should you leave Essex, you’ll be able to print your certificates of completion and view your historical data

NB: If you choose not to bind accounts, you should print your certificates of completion before you leave Essex and lose access to your LinkedIn Learning account.

If you can transfer your LinkedIn Learning account to another institutional account within 1 year, you will regain full access to courses/videos, your certificates of completion and historical data. If you disconnect your account, your previous learning data will still be available on the platform, so you’ll need to make a request if you wish for this data to be removed.

Essex can only see your LinkedIn profile photo. We won’t have access to any other information from your LinkedIn profile. For more details see the Privacy Information for LinkedIn Learning Learners web page.

Data Use

Keeping your information safe is important to us and to LinkedIn. When you connect your LinkedIn account, only your learning activity will be shared with your employer. No other activity or data from your LinkedIn account will ever be accessible or shared with your employer. See the details of our Privacy Information here or watch the short video below to get an overview of the privacy policy from Linkedin.

Moodle integration

Staff who have Lynda.com content in their Moodle courses will receive a separate communication about this after the upgrade is complete.

More information

I’ve you have more questions about the upgrade, please visit the LinkedIn Learning FAQs web page or contact it.training@essex.ac.uk.

Leave a Reply

The University of Essex will moderate comments and there will be a delay before any posts appear.